Upgrading Dell XPS One 2710 to Windows 10

dell-xps-2710

So I wanted to upgrade my June 2012 purchased desktop to Windows 10 but was met with the following roadbloack on the dell web site.

XPS One 2710

Product not tested for Windows 10 upgrade

Dell is not testing or developing Windows 10 drivers for this product. If you choose to upgrade, some features, applications, and connected devices may not work as expected.

Should I worry ? Surely nothing too exotic would stand in the way right?

I had tried the free upgrade when Windows 10 was first released but all of the networking failed after the upgraded, so I down graded again to Windows 8.1.

After playing around with the Hyper V setup a bit I figured that this was probably the reason the networking bombed in Windows 10. So after a few weeks of nagging from the upgrade assistant, I removed Hyper V and tried again.

The upgrade itself was smooth and I’m really enjoying Windows 10. The new start menu is a welcome addition – but the best bit so far I’m enjoying is the new Windows Explorer layout – so much easier to find drives and directories and move around quickly.

So Ethernet networking is going fine, but if I disable the ethernet device and try to use WiFi I always get a “limited” network connection. So it seems the WiFi drivers are indeed not quite right in Windows 10.

Not enough to want me to go back, but it would be nice if I needed to move the machine to somewhere where I don’t have wired ethernet.

This machine has served we well – it came with Windows 7.

Upgrading Dell XPS One 2710 to Windows 10

2 thoughts on “Upgrading Dell XPS One 2710 to Windows 10

  1. John says:

    Hi David

    Google xps 2710 BSOD (black screen of death)… Having a 2710 paperweight myself, I’d suggest go back to Win 8 ASAP. To be told is to know, to experience is to understand.

  2. It does sound scary John, especially as the death is not something we know how to avoid. The last 6 months have been pretty stable I have to say, and I backup everything to OneDrive every day and also have a local backup as well – so I would be annoyed by a total failure, but kind of expect it at some stage.

Leave a Reply

